Skip to content

30 Day Drawing Challenge: Days 1 to 7!

November 7, 2011

Without further ado, here’s the first week of drawings from the 30 day drawing challenge!

Day 1: Yourself. Pretty much did a straight-up self-portrait. Drawn with ballpoint pen, colour added with brush and ink!

Day 2: Favourite animal. What can I say, I like cats. Here’s a drawing of one of mine, Benji, who gets drawn the most out of all of them because he’s usually sleeping on the sofa, and likes human company. Drawn with fountain pen.

Day 3: Favourite food. This was tough, because I don’t really have a favourite food, I have many I like. But the one thing I can always be relied upon to eat is chips. So here are chips! They’re tough to draw, being yellow rectangles arranged messily in a bowl. (Chips as in ‘fries’ for residents of the USA!) Drawn with fountain pen.

Day 4: Favourite place. Here’s my bed, I like it, it’s comfy! Drawn with fountain pen.

Day 5: Best friend. Like many people, I don’t just have one person I regard as my ‘best friend’. I have several extremely close friends, all of whom I’m close to for different reasons and in different ways. So here are two of them, both were my housemates in Uni, both on my course, both are wonderful and both are called Emma! On the left is Emma S and on the right is Emma F. (Hope I’ve drawn you adequately!) Drawn in ballpoint pen.

Day 6: Favourite book character (can’t be a movie). So it said ‘Can’t be a movie’, which ruled some of my favourites, like Memoirs of a Geisha, Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. This really shed light on what I read, which is mainly autobiographies/true life/non-fiction at the moment, with the novels I read mostly having been made into films, which I enjoy almost as much as the books. Can you guess who this character is?

It’s the anonymous narrator/second ‘Mrs De Winters’ from ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne De Maurier, which I realise HAS actually been made into a film, but I haven’t seen the film, so tried to just draw what I’d imagined the character would look like. I think that counts as ‘can’t be a movie’, because I haven’t watched it. I read this book for the first time earlier this year and couldn’t put it down (while I was meant to be writing my dissertation). It’s a seriously beautiful, descriptive, haunting read, very atmospheric. Drawn in ballpoint pen.

Day 7: Favourite word. I like lots of words, for different reasons, such as how they sound, their meanings, their connotations and sometimes just the context they’re used in. Current favourites are ‘regardless’, ‘contemporary’ and ‘autumnal’. So I drew autumnal, because it’s seasonally appropriate and I wanted to use some colour. Drawn in fountain pen with colouring pencils.

I’d say so far the drawing challenge is good for me, sets a routine of sorts. Hope these pictures load up as they’re meant to.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. colorfulworldofmine permalink
    November 21, 2011 6:42 pm

    I like your use of just one colour in the first drawing – maybe adding more shadow to the right side of the face will make an interesting contrast to the lighter left side.

    but anyway keep up the good work 🙂

    • November 22, 2011 6:07 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, was thinking about playing around more with shadows and contrast. There’s a certain permanent quality about ballpoint pen that makes me really hesitant to add too much, was worried I’d overdone shading already, so glad to hear you think I could go even further with it! 🙂

      • colorfulworldofmine permalink
        November 22, 2011 6:23 pm

        Yearh I know the feeling, it’s always hard to decide when to stop/continue drawing – there is no going back with fineliners/ballpoint pens 🙂

Leave a Reply

