Skip to content

Badger Linocut Printing

November 13, 2013

Today I’m sharing some work I did back in August, made using a medium that I hadn’t tried in years: linocut printing.

Copyright Tansy Hutcheson-Lovett

Lino cutting

This is the linocut printing plate, photograph taken in the middle of carving my design onto the lino. I used softcut lino and a wooden bench hook to hold the lino in place for extra safety. The easier it is to carve the safer the process is, less chance of pushing the lino cutting tool too hard and cutting your hands (though caution around sharp objects is always recommended)! I chose to do a simplified version of my favourite badger drawing that I made in April, to be a part of my continuing series of wild/woodland animal pieces.

Copyright Tansy Hutcheson-Lovett

Badger linocut print

Here is my favourite from the resulting prints. It’s a very different process to monoprinting; that is much more a form of drawing whereas linocut printing has more of a strict ‘printmaking’ feel to it, due to being able to make multiple prints that look almost identical. Though all the prints use the same printing plate there will be subtle differences between them. These can be due to imperfections in the cutting of the plate, natural variations in how thinly or thickly the ink is rolled out for each print, and the varying amount of pressure placed on the paper when printing the image.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

