Skip to content

Snowflakes

January 15, 2014

Before Christmas this year I decided that I wanted to make my own gift tags for the presents I’d be giving. I sketched out a few ideas, eventually coming up with three different snowflake designs. I bought red printing ink and plain white luggage tags and decided I’d be making them using a linocut printmaking technique.

Copyright Tansy Hutcheson-Lovett

This was my first design, a snowflake with eight points.  I did test prints in my sketchbook to get to know the materials, see how much ink was needed on the lino, that kind of thing.

Copyright Tansy Hutcheson-Lovett

This was my second design, a slightly simpler six point snowflake,  made slightly wider cuts for each line on this one to make it a bit more bold and clear.

Third snowflake design test

This was my third design, a more complicated version of a six point snowflake with a star in the middle. My favourite out of all three designs!

Copyright Tansy Hutcheson-Lovett

And here are a couple of the finished gift tags. Linocut printing without a printing press sometimes results in slight imperfections that give this printmaking technique a delightful handmade charm. This unpredictable quality is why it can sometimes be a nuisance, but is sometimes really fun to work with and definitely worth trying out. After I’d actually made the gift tags I cut up some pieces of wood and stuck them to the back of the lino pieces. This way they’ll be easier to hold and stamp my image onto paper next time I use them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

