Skip to content

Envelope as surface

June 17, 2014

Here’s a little drawing I made a couple of months ago using a technique often referred to as ‘blind contour drawing’, where you draw without looking down at the pencil and paper (or chosen media). In this case I used a 2B pencil to draw on the inside of an old envelope, reusing a material that is often discarded without much thought. The patterns inside envelopes can be quite interesting but they are often ignored, so I sometimes like to draw on them to give them a second life. Occasionally they end up being glued into the sketchbook.

Copyright Tansy Hutcheson-Lovett

This particular drawing is of the Imperial State Crown, an image which has become iconic and easily recognisable in the UK. Introducing ambiguity into this image through the blind contour drawing technique adds a certain level of interest, I want to use this technique more frequently. I also enjoy the whimsical contrast created by drawing an image of a high-value object on such a low-value recycled material.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2014 11:40 pm

    I love contour drawing, I’ve only done blind contour drawings a couple times as warm up techniques. This drawing is unique, I like it! Drawing on envelope makes it even cooler if you ask me 🙂

Leave a Reply

